Mid-Del Stitchin’ Sisters

Tuesday evening I gave the program for the Mid-Del Stitchin' Sisters monthly meeting.  They are still a fairly small guild, but very active.  Just this month members turned in about 30 baby quilts for charity and a large stack of blocks to make lap quilts for hospital patients.  They also participated in a nickel [1] swap.  Itchin' to be Stitchin' Quilt Shop from Chandler was there to vend and the guild provided refreshments at the break. 

This was the first guild program I have done since my book came out.  Because I have so many samples on loan to quilt shops I didn't have as many quilts to show as I used to.  I filled in the gaps by making a couple of new fractures and by showing the large stack of fabric I still have waiting for future fractures.  This left me wanting to come home and ignore all the long arm quilting I have waiting for my customers so that I can concentrate on sewing up that big pile.  Alas, common sense won out and now I must go return to my work.

[1] For those of you who don't already know, a nickel is a five inch square of fabric.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mid-Del Stitchin’ Sisters

  1. it doesn't sound like the recession is making much of an impact in your industry. That's a fine thing. 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    Well, if Darcy's sales are any indication, the slump in our industry was last year. Her sales in the first 2 1/2 months of this year are much better than the same period last year (which was down from the year before). Of course, only time will tell.

  3. Brenda says:

    Just a little bit ago I was on the phone with one of my designer friends in the KC area and she said her sales are mirroring Darcy's. Maybe we're a leading economic indicator? 8:-)

  4. mad-tante says:

    Sounds like you're a v. popular lady!

Leave a Reply

