BOB Challenge

Our challenge for the April meeting was to make a two color quilt using direct compliments. For those of you who are not familiar with color terminology, direct compliments are colors found directly across from each other on the color wheel.  We were allowed to play with the tints (white added to the color), shades (black added), and tones (gray added) of the colors, but I'm very partial to clear bright colors so I didn't bother with that.  The colors I chose were red-violet and yellow-green. 

The challenge did allow us to add small amounts of a third color to the project if we chose.  I chose.  The quilting thread I used is yellow.  My long arm machine started giving me fits near the end of this project so I wasn't able to finish quilting it before Tuesday night's meeting.  I just got it done a few minutes ago and will bind it later.  I'm rather happy with the outcome.

Our challenge for the June meeting is to create a project using a triadic color scheme.  I have promised myself to play with the values of the colors on that one.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BOB Challenge

  1. frostedbetty says:

    I love the thread color you used! It tied everything together perfect 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    Thanks! It makes me happy. 8:-)

Leave a Reply

