Front Porch Stars

This past weekend I have been very busy trying to get caught up on the work I have waiting for customers, but yesterday I took a few hours off to quilt something for myself. 

This quilt started with the purchase of the fabric.  A few years ago my friend Pam was working in Ft. Worth and I drove down to visit her for a few days.  I found a fat quarter bundle of a fabric line called "Picket Fence" from Moda.  I had no idea what I would do with it, I just knew I needed to own it.  That evening while Pam and I were sitting around admiring our purchases and flipping through some quilting magazines I saw a quilt with this star block pattern.  I don't remember what the magazine was or the name of the design, but I did a quick sketch of the block and then when I came home designed the quilt.

The quilting is a pantograph pattern called Deb's Dahlias and I used bright kelly green thread.  It will be bound with the same polka dot fabric seen in the inner border.  You are looking at the length of the quilt on the machine.  It measures 82 x 98.  I am so pleased with the way it has turned out that I do believe I will enter it in the state fair.

100_5849100_5850100_5851

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Front Porch Stars

  1. mad-tante says:

    While more than "red, white & blue," it's definitely in that theme, too. I imagine this will be highly-desired!

  2. Brenda says:

    Yes, it could definitely pass for patriotic, but to me it just says "Summer*." 8:-)*And not that hot, humid, nasty stuff that passes for summer around here. Just a nice pleasant summer where you can sit on the porch in your rocker and enjoy the cooling breezes.

  3. mad-tante says:

    ::sniff:: Sounds like northern Cali. I'm truly smitten!

Leave a Reply

