This one’s been around for a while

This quilt has been in progress for about 17 years.  It all started back in the fall of 1993 when my friend Wendi and I took a short vacation to Missouri.  While we were there we stopped at a quilt shop where I purchased the white floral fabric in this quilt.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it, I just liked it.  The following summer after I had moved to Missouri and had plenty of time on my hands (I was a full time housewife for the first time ever in my life) I decided to start playing around with quilt designs.  I made up a line drawing of kaleidoscope and after making several copies of it I started playing around with various color arrangements.  After settling on this one I purchased all of the other fabrics needed for the top. 

Fast forward to summer 1999.  Ken and I had moved into the house we're in now a few months earlier, he was in Bosnia for several months, and I had just lost my job.  Once again I had lots of time on my hands so I finally pulled out this project and pieced the top.  In those days I was a hand quilter and it got put aside to wait its turn. 

Last week I finally loaded this quilt into the long arm and quilted it.  The binding is now finished and after I show it at next week's guild meeting it will be heading off to Arizona where it will live with my sister in law.  About 10 years ago I told her she could have it.  I wonder if she remembers….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This one’s been around for a while

  1. Luci says:

    Very nice. I'm always a fan of green combined with either purples or pinks. I'm sure your sister-in-law will be very happy to get this.

Leave a Reply

