Same But Different

Every two years OKMQA produces a project we call Same But Different.  For this project each of the members who choose to participate piece identical quilt tops (same) and then each quilter quilts their top as they see fit (different). 

Once these quilts are finished they are available to be shown as a single group at quilt shows around the state.  The project serves many purposes.  Making these quilts available for public viewing gives potential customers a chance to see which quilters have styles that suit their tastes.  These quilts also give other quilters, as well as us, an opportunity to see how someone else approaches the same problem and hopefully pick up some new ideas. 

I've been a member of this group for several years, but never had a chance to participate until this year.  Today I quilted my quilt.  I'm quite pleased with the way it has turned out.

100_7613100_7615100_7616

The finished quilt measures 42" x 42".  I cross hatched the white areas with white thread.  The feathers were stitched with Superior's King Tut thread in color #938 Luxorious.

I'm anxious to see how the other quilts will be done.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Same But Different

  1. John says:

    Interesting compositoin; it reminds me of White on White. But it seems to be missing something. Have you tried it with a thin border around the center piece?
    John

  2. Brenda says:

    I agree that the pieced quilt top is weak, but I can't make any changes to it. It must be what it is — thems the rules. And it looks rather bland here because my camera didn't do a good job of picking up the color in the feathers. Even if you blow up one of the close up shots it's hard to see the color variation in the thread or the way it sings on the black fabric. Heck, I couldn't even get a good picture of the thread on the cone. I thought about using colored thread on the white fabric as well but thought it would fight with the feathers and I really wanted them to be the viewer's focus.

  3. John says:

    I agree that the pieced quilt top is weak, but I can't make any changes to it. It must be what it is — them's the rules.
    Can you make a very thick stitch in black along the border of the grey piece?
    John

  4. Brenda says:

    Sure, that's well within the rules, but I don't think it would really do much to save the piece. I would have preferred that two of the blocks (say, upper left and lower right) be rotated 180 degrees so that the light gray is up next to the black border. Then both the piecework and the quilting would have been more interesting. And the shade of gray that was chosen for the center is just awful. Even though there is good contrast between the thread and the fabric the colors went flat. That happened with every thread I auditioned, but this one held it's color the best.

Leave a Reply

