Road Trip!

On Wednesday I took a road trip to the Dallas/Ft. Worth area with a couple of my favorite quilting friends.  Our first stop was at a batting manufacturer so my friends could purchase a few rolls of batting (I don't need anything right now so I was just there for the fun of it).  It's a small family owned operation, but they make some very nice products.  The owner and his son took us on a tour of the factory and showed us every step of the manufacturing process from raw fiber to packaged batts.  You can take a mini tour here.  I had a fair idea of how batting is produced, but now I really know how it's done.  Like any good salesman, the owner made sure I left with plenty of samples and a price list.  I will certainly be ordering from them in the future.  It was well worth the trip down there just for this.

After finishing up a the factory it was time to get down to some serious business.  Our first stop was Cabbage Rose [1] in Ft. Worth.  I love this quilt shop and never fail to spend too much money while I'm there.  For this trip I had a mission.  I was looking for pink and green fabrics to duplicate the look of some blocks one of my Facebook friends is making.  I had no trouble pulling quite a pile of fat quarters and a bit of yardage.  Now to pull out some fabrics from my stash to mix with them and figure out how to use them….

Fabric shopping left us terribly hungry so we asked the shop girls where we should go for lunch.  They directed us to a fish place just a short block away.  That was the best fried shrimp I think I've ever eaten.  I'll definitely be making a return visit to check out more items on the menu.

Lunch was followed by a drive down to Waxahachie and Common Threads Quilting.  This was my first visit to that particular shop.  Their selection of nineteenth century reproduction fabrics is among the best I've ever seen.  I had no particular agenda to fill at this shop, but managed to add to my fabric stash just the same.

From Waxahachie we headed back north through Dallas and stopped in Carrollton at The Old Craft Store.  This store is much smaller than the others we visited, but it was nice.  I really didn't see any fabrics in there that I hadn't already seen in the two larger stores, but did manage to come away with one piece of shirting to put in my stash.

At this point it was time to eat.  OK, we could have waited a little later, but it was about 5:30 and we really didn't want to drive in rush hour traffic.  There was a wonderful mexican restaurant right there on the square where the quilt shop is located.   The food was tasty and the service was excellent.  Since it's just a few blocks from I-35 my husband is thinking that I'll have to take him there the next time we're passing through.  He'll get no complaints from me!

All in all, it was a great day with great friends. 

[1] Be sure to check out that link and run your cursor across the screen.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Road Trip!

  1. Emjay says:

    I love the name Waxahachie – sounds like just as much fun was had eating as stocking up on materials.

  2. I love all of the colors and patterns in the fabrics. πŸ™‚

  3. Brenda says:

    sounds like just as much fun was had eating as stocking up on materials. Well, heck yeah! Quilters love to eat.

  4. Brenda says:

    I love all of the colors and patterns in the fabrics. πŸ™‚ Thanks. Me, too. That's why my house runneth over with fabric.

Leave a Reply

