A Feast For The Eyes

This past weekend was the Edmond Quilt Festival sponsored by the Edmond Quilt Guild.  Our guild is full of many talented quilters and we proudly showed off our best.

The show marked my small group's debut of the slice quilt we produced earlier this year.  It received much positive attention during the show.

In addition to this work, my small group had many quilts entered into the show and won many ribbons.  Charlotte led the pack by taking Best of Show with her quilt "Into the Woods." 

Three of the four other special awards were also won by members of my small group.  (I just noticed that each of these three quilts also took 3rd place in their categories.)  Charlotte received the Mayor's Choice Award for "Field of Lilies."

Sarah received the Special Art Award for "Autumn Splendor."

I received the UCO President's Choice Award for "EQG Block of the Month."

Since the president was unavailable to come choose a quilt himself he sent the Dean of the College of Mathematics and Science to make the choice in his place.  Dr. Barthell spent nearly an hour carefully studying all of the quilts and asking many pertinent questions about quilting before making his selection.  He ultimately chose my quilt for many reasons, not the least of which was the color scheme which closely reflects the university's colors.  I had a chance to visit with him after he made his selection and I think he was rather pleased to discover that I'm a graduate of the university with a degree in Physics Education.

My small group took home many other ribbons in addition to the ones already mentioned including a first place ribbon for me on my pink and green sampler.

AliceBrendaD1BrendaD2BrendaD3BrendaE1BrendaW1BrendaW2BrendaW3Debra1Gailyn1Janice1Laura1Laura2

Here are some other quilts that won ribbons for friends of mine.

Bonnie1CharleneDon1Don2Judy1Judy2LindaMarilyn1Marilyn2Marilyn3Toni1Toni2Toni3

As I look over my list of winners I see that my friends won more ribbons than just these, but I guess I failed to get pictures of them all.  I'll leave you here with more quilts from the show.

100_7665100_7676100_7677100_7679100_7682100_7683100_7684100_7689100_7692100_7693100_7697100_7699100_7700100_7718

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Feast For The Eyes

  1. Luci says:

    Wow, those are some great quilts! Congrats on your ribbon from UCO – it's funny he chose a math & science quilter without knowing it.

  2. Brenda says:

    Clearly it was meant to be. Today I had an email from him inquiring about the possibility of purchasing this quilt for his daughter's birthday gift. If we can agree on a price it's his!

  3. John says:

    Clearly it was meant to be. Today I had an email from him inquiring about the possibility of purchasing this quilt for his daughter's birthday gift. If we can agree on a price it's his! I'd be willing to bet that he doesn't realize how much work goes into a quilt, and the effect it has on the price.John

  4. Brenda says:

    Actually, he does. His sister is a quilter. That's one of the reasons he spent so much time studying all the quilts and asking questions. He wanted to make sure he picked a quilt that was worthy of a special prize. I've since received another email from him saying that he's going to have to talk it over with his wife (it's more than the standard birthday budget). We'll see how it goes.

  5. Luci says:

    It's more then most people's birthday budgets – but it can also be passed down a few generations if properly cared for. How cool is that? You can't buy THAT at Wally world. Whether he buys it or not, you have a new fan and he's surely a geek!

  6. Brenda says:

    We just closed the deal. I'll be delivering it to him later today! 8:-)

  7. Luci says:

    How awesome is that? Congrats on the sale!I'm curious how much an award winning quilt goes for – care to email me for educational purposes?

  8. John says:

    We just closed the deal. I'll be delivering it to him later today! 8:-) So does that count as a "green ribbon"?John

  9. Brenda says:

    So does that count as a "green ribbon"? And much better than the Honorable Mention variety! 8:-)

Leave a Reply

