Now What Have I Done?

Today I took on a challenge like I've never tackled before.  I went to visit a gentleman whose wife recently passed away and left behind a major UFO.*  She had decided to make quilts for all of her children and grandchildren and was working on the last one.  It's supposed to be a Christmas present for this year, but this is all the further she got.

Apparently it's an original design of her own that she was making up as she went along because we could find no sketches or instructions.  All I have to go on is what you see here and a large pile of fabric.  I am hoping for two things:  A)her piecing was accurate so this will go together smoothly and B)divine inspiration to come up with a completed design she will approve of.  I've promised to have this job completed before Christmas so the quilt can be delivered on time.

*I guess it's not good enough that I've been completing my own UFOs!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Now What Have I Done?

  1. John says:

    Assuming that the spare pieces are just tacked to the backing and not sewn in, you could always use symmetry to finish it off. If not, pretend that it is a diagram of a crystal dissolving in water and let the ions fall where they may…John

  2. This is a challenge! Glad it is you and not me. Looks doable if everything will come out even, but I'm not sure that is going to happen. Good luck! Keep us posted as to your progress. Where do you start?

  3. Brenda says:

    That's bits and pieces pinned to a sheet. There are pieces sewn together into sections, but the sections are separate from each other. There are more sections in the bag of fabric that we found lying on a table. Don't know if they were rejects or simply pieces waiting to find homes in the design. The symmetry you see developing is intended to be completed.

  4. Ladywise says:

    Wow, what a daunting task. I hope this goes well for you.

  5. John says:

    There are more sections in the bag of fabric that we found lying on a table. Don't know if they were rejects or simply pieces waiting to find homes in the design. Are the spare bits in multiples of two? If so, then they were meant for the design. If not, then they are rejects.John

  6. Brenda says:

    If not, then they are rejects. Not necessarily. They are more likely to be in multiples of 8 or 16 (I haven't taken anything out of the bag since I got home because I have other jobs with earlier deadlines), but just because they aren't doesn't mean they were rejected. It could simply mean that she hadn't finished making them all. And if they are in multiples of 8 or 16, they could still be rejects. But that doesn't mean I can't use them. Come over to my house the next time you're in town and I'll let you get them out and play on my design wall. You remember Colorforms, don't you? 8:-)

  7. John says:

    Come over to my house the next time you're in town and I'll let you get them out and play on my design wall. Even better – bring them over to my grandmother's house the next time I'm up, and we can all work the puzzle together. (She loves puzzles!)John

  8. Brenda says:

    Even better – bring them over to my grandmother's house the next time I'm up, and we can all work the puzzle together. (She loves puzzles!) It's a date!

  9. Pingback: Bad Day Sewing | Brenda's Blog

Leave a Reply

