Fracturing Frenzy

Today for the first time in quite a while I taught a fractures class.  This time I only had one student, but she was a doozy (and I mean that in the nicest of ways).  Her name is Ashley.

Ashley first encountered my book in July at the Edmond Quilt Festival. She absolutely fell in love with my technique for a very important reason.  She has a problem with her eyes that causes her to see the world the way it appears in my quilts.  Especially the ones that are fractured on angles.  When she saw my fractures she knew that she could finally show people what she sees rather than try to explain it to them.  This made her a highly motivated student.

Not only was Ashley motivated, she was very quick to catch on to the technique.  Since she was the only student in the class we were able to move right along at her pace and she had her first fracture finished by lunch.

After lunch I gave her a choice.  She could either start a second fracture using this technique and the koi panels she had brought with her or we could move on and do angled fracturing.  She opted for the angles.

There were a couple of hiccups in the process, but she got this one done as well.

I can’t wait to see the quilts she makes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

