Oops! I did it again.

For the third year in a row I’ve managed to win a Best of Show ribbon at the Oklahoma State Fair.  Funny thing is, I don’t own any of the three quilts that have received that honor.  This is food for thought regarding what I need to do in order to make prize winning quilts.

I am in some very good and familiar company with my purple ribbon this year.

The glass always messes with my ability to get good pictures, but here’s my quilt.  In front of it is a man’s shirt made by my friend Don.  He received a first place ribbon and a 2nd place Best of Show on it.  He topped that with this quilt.

And my friend Toni won a Best of Show on this quilt.

Now, before you get confused on how there could be that many Best of Show quilts you should know that there are 4 divisions of quilts broken down into 10-20 classes and each division gets a Best of Show.

Don has a total of 5 items in the fair.  Here are the other 3.

Toni has 9 additional quilts in the show.  She’s been a busy girl this year!

I have 6 more quilts in the fair.  Three of them took 4th place, one took 2nd, and two took 1st.

Michelle, Jolene, Gailynn, Linda, and Laura, also won ribbons.  I know there were more ribbons for my friends, but these are all the pictures I managed to get.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oops! I did it again.

  1. venera4 says:

    So every quilt that you entered won something, and you won best in show. Good going!

    • In all fairness, they’re pretty generous with the ribbons. This is the first time I’ve ever gotten anything as low as 4th place at the state fair. It’s not because my skills are slipping, it’s because this year’s competition was that tough. There are some beautiful quilts there!

  2. madtante says:

    Congrats!

    Sadly, even though I’m on highspeed internet (we’ve been having LOADS of troubles at work), I can’t view all your shots. I’m assuming they’re high resolution and since we’re gimped up, that’s the problem! Cos we spent half the day off-line Monday and several servers are still roached.

    Anyway, great going on the ribbons!

Leave a Reply

