Virgin Mary

Today I finally got started working on my Virgin Mary quilt challenge.  I’ve known what I wanted to do since early November, but knew I wouldn’t have the time to begin work on it until I was done with all of my Christmas jobs.

For this project I decided that I wanted to go with a symbol of the Virgin Mary rather than do the obvious and I wanted to use Irena Bluhm’s technique of coloring quilts.

My first step was to choose the symbol I wanted to use and then find a suitable image.

Next I traced the image onto my fabric using a wash away blue marker.  The finished quilt will be 12″ x 12″ but I’ve started with a piece of fabric that is 14″ x 14″.  This will allow for the inevitable shrinkage that occurs with quilting and gives me another opportunity to decide just how I want the image placed on the final product.

This piece of fabric was then sandwiched with another piece of fabric and a piece of polyester batting.  It was loaded onto my long arm machine and I quilted along the drawn lines.

I’m not as good as I’d like to be at following the lines, but it doesn’t matter.  The next step was to wash away the blue ink with cool water and then dry the quilt.

Now for the fun part.  I pulled out my colored pencils and textile medium and got to work.  Here’s how the quilt looks with just the lily colored in.

I’ll wait until this part is dry before I move on to coloring the background.  After all the coloring is done I’ll put it back on the machine and quilt the background.  Then I will trim it down to size and bind it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Virgin Mary

  1. venera4 says:

    Will you quilt it in a cloverleaf pattern to evoke the stained glass “Mary’s Window”? Or perhaps use apotropaic markings of interlocking V and M?

  2. Pingback: Ode to Joy | Brenda's Blog

Leave a Reply

