Virgin Marys Revealed and Quilt Camp

It’s hard to believe I’ve gone over a month without posting anything here.  Believe me, it’s not because I’ve had nothing to say, it’s because I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to say it.  I’ll start with the big reveal of the Virgin Marys.

The weekend after New Year’s our group headed out to a wonderful camp in eastern Oklahoma for a weekend of quilting fun.  This was the first time we have gone away together and it was an experience I hope we repeat every year.  We finally broke through the wall of being able to honestly critique each others’ work and really grow as a team.  I want this to continue.

After checking in to camp, claiming our bed spaces, and setting up our work stations the first order of business was to reveal our Virgin Marys.  Once again we did not disappoint ourselves with the variety of approaches to the topic.

You will notice a complete absence of tomato juice based adult beverages.  Not because anyone thought it was a bad idea, but because it was pretty much the first thing we all thought of when the challenge was announced so we each chose to reject it as being too obvious.

Most went with pretty literal interpretations:

Some literal, but symbolic:

And then there are always those who manage to head off on a tangent and come up with something really original:

Our next challenge word is “JOY.”

The rest of the weekend was divided up between working on individual projects, guided lessons, and exploring the grounds.

I was asked to teach my “Yipes! Stripes!” class.  They had such a good time with it that most of them left with finished tops.

Even those who didn’t come up with designs they liked spent some serious time playing with their blocks.

Brenda W brought along some wool felt kits for us to make pin cushions and needle cases.  I now have this little cutie holding all the corsage pins at my long arm machine.

Whew!  I’m tired again just from looking at all the pictures I took!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Virgin Marys Revealed and Quilt Camp

  1. Debra Lea says:

    And a good time was had by ALL!!!!

  2. Brenda D. says:

    Thanks for the pictures, what a diverse group of interpretations of our theme. I still chuckle over them.

  3. If we all had the same ideas we’d be a pretty boring group.

Leave a Reply

